Effective: Moved to Policy Library from UPM 3.2(10), UPM 7.5(1)
Updated/Revised: October 31, 2016
Contact: University Human Resources (UHR) Workers' Compensation Office (ER/LR)
This policy identifies expectations of university personnel for compliance with law related to workplace injury or illness.
Workers' compensation is a part of the Iowa Code designed to provide certain considerations to employees who sustain injuries, occupational illnesses or occupational hearing loss in the course of and arising out of their employment. Benefits are administered according to Iowa law.
All accidents, injuries, illnesses, and hearing loss occurring at work or in the course of employment must be reported to the supervisor, even if no medical attention is required. Employees should notify their departmental supervisor who will call Iowa State University's approved medical provider to schedule an appointment, unless emergency care is required. Employees who choose to be treated by any other treatment center and/or physician may not qualify for any workers’ compensation insurance benefits and may also be responsible for all medical costs related to the incident. This is in accordance with workers' compensation benefits for state employees.
The employee or supervisor is responsible for completing the First Report of Injury form via the online ISU Incident Portal (see Resources below) within 24 hours of becoming aware of the work-related illness or injury. Incidents that are not reported may cause employees to be ineligible for future benefits related to this injury or illness. An employee will not receive reimbursement for medical expenses for both Workers’ Compensation and a group medical plan.
An injury or illness is considered work-related for Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) reporting purposes if an event or exposure in the work environment caused or contributed to a condition or significantly aggravated a pre-existing condition. This includes injuries while the employee is on break, in the restroom, traveling on business or engaged in work activities such as training required by the employer. In-patient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye must be reported as soon as possible but no later than 24 hours after the incident. A workplace fatality must be reported as soon as possible but no later than 8 hours after the incident.